Blue Peter Book Awards 2014

Latest update 'The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 winners have been announced'

The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 winners have been announced


Tony Robinson has beaten off the competition to win himself his second Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book with Facts, with the WWII instalment in his Weird World of Wonders series. Newcomer Katherine Rundell, aged 26, joins him as the winner of the Best Story for her critically acclaimed second novel Rooftoppers.  A panel of judges including author Marcus Sedgwick, CBBC presenter Katie Thistleton, World Book Day director Kirsten Grant and as a non-voting chair of judges, Blue Peter editor Ewan Vinnicombe, selected the shortlist from publishers’ submissions. These were then read and voted on by over 400 children from 10 schools across the UK to decide the winners in each category. Read about the experiences of the young Blue Peter viewers who took part in this year's judging.


The winners were announced today on a special World Book Day morning bulletin of Newsround and viewers will be able to see them receive their awards on Blue Peter at 5.30pm tonight. 


Robinson is known for his role as Baldrick in historical comedy Blackadder, as well as presenting on Time Team, but he has also written over 20 books for children and adults, including The Worst Children’s Jobs in History, which sold over 60,000 copies and won a Blue Peter Book Award in 2007. There are six titles in the Weird World of Wonders series, plus a World Book Day special, published in 2013. Rundell, who is the youngest female fellow ever to be elected  at All Souls College in Oxford, already counts Philip Pullman and Jacqueline Wilson among her fans and was shortlisted for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Award in 2013. Her first book, Girl Savage, was inspired by childhood years living in Zimbabwe and Rooftoppers from her summers working in Paris as well as night-time explorations on the roof of All Souls and a side hobby in tightrope walking. She is currently working on her doctorate alongside an adult novel.

Stay up-to-date with the Awards on Twitter: @Booktrust and #BPBA

Best Story

  • Winner


    Katherine Rundell
    Faber and Faber

    Following an elusive cello melody over the rooftops of Paris, Sophie is determined to find her long lost mother, before it is too late.

Judge and author Marcus Sedgwick said of the Best Story winner:

Rooftoppers is a lovely book - free and imaginative, original and touching. The judges loved the way it defies genre and convention, and it's a fantastic winner for the Blue Peter Book Award.

Katherine Rundell commented on her win:

I am so wildly delighted and grateful: to win a prize that is voted for by the people for you whom you wrote the book is the most spectacular feeling. And I am thrilled to get a Blue Peter badge at last! I spent most of my childhood loitering hopefully near rivers, waiting for someone to fall in and need rescuing so that I could get a badge - and now I don't even have to get wet. Thank you!


  • Whale Boy

    Nicola Davies

    Random House
  • Oliver and the Seawigs

    Philip Reeve
    Illustrated by Sarah McIntyre

    Oxford University Press
  • Rooftoppers

    Katherine Rundell
    Faber and Faber

Best Book with Facts

  • Winner

    Tony Robinson's Weird World of Wonders: World War II

    Tony Robinson

    Illustrated by Del Thorpe

    Macmillan Children's Books

    Tony Robinson takes children on a headlong gallop through the history of World War II in this entertaining history book, part of his Weird World of Wonders series.

Ewan Vinnicombe, Blue Peter editor and chair of judges said of the Best Book with Facts Winner:

Tony Robinson’s Weird World of Wonders: WWII is a worthy winner of the Best Book with Facts. It’s witty, clever and gives the reader an insight into an important historical event.

Tony Robinson was delighted to win for a second time:

If happiness is usually the size of a tennis ball, my feelings are the size of Australia! Blue Peter is a genuine stamp of approval and because children themselves do the voting, there’s something very real about this win – it actually feels like a pat on the back from the readership themselves.


  • Marvellous Maths

    Jonathan Litton

    Illustrated by Thomas Flintham

    Templar Publishing
  • The World in Infographics: Animal Kingdom

    Jon Richards

    Illustrated by Ed Simkins

  • Tony Robinson's Weird World of Wonders: World War II

    Tony Robinson

    Illustrated by Del Thorpe

    Macmillan Children's Books


About the Blue Peter Book Awards 2014

The enormously popular and influential Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000. The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 celebrates children's books published in the last year in two categories: the Best Story and the Best Book with Facts.

For updates on the Award follow @Booktrust, on Twitter, and visit the official Blue Peter page.

Past winners of the Blue Peter Book of the Year

2013 Best Story: Tom Gates - Genius Ideas (Mostly) by Liz Pichon (Scholastic); Best Book with Facts: Horrible Science: House of Horrors by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles (Scholastic)

2012 The Considine Curse by Gareth P Jones (Bloomsbury)

2011 Dead Man's Cove by Lauren St John (Orion Children's Books)

2010 Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes (Oxford University Press)

2009 Shadow Forest by Matt Haig (Corgi Children's)

2008 Prize didn't run
2007 The Outlaw Varjak Paw by S. F. Said, illustrated by Dave McKean (David Fickling Books)

2006 Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins)
2005 Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo (Collins)
2004 Man on the Moon by Simon Bartram (Templar)
2003 Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve (Scholastic)
2002 Feather Boy by Nicky Singer (Collins)
2001 The Wind Singer by William Nicholson (Egmont)
2000 A Pilgrim's Progress retold by Geraldine McCaughrean, illustrated by Jason Cockcroft (Hodder)

The submission period for entries for the Blue Peter Book Awards closed on 30 August 2013.

For reference, this year’s terms & conditions and entry form are below:

The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 Terms and Conditions
The Blue Peter Book Awards 2014 Entry Form

If you have any queries please email or call Hannah Davies on 020 8875 4838