At the World's End

by Catherine Fisher

Reading Age: 8+

Interest level: 12+

by Catherine Fisher

Caz has been living in a department store for the past nine years with a group of survivors. They managed to escape the storm of the Blue Star, which turned everything outside into a frozen world. Nine years on, rations are running low and sacrifices have to be made - meaning someone has to leave the safety of the store. Caz isn't convinced that stepping outside will cause immediate death, like some of the other survivors believe. So when her friend Will is selected as the sacrifice, she decides to leave the store with him. Caz and Will find themselves in a dangerous world searching for a safe place, and all the while Caz is convinced there must still be other people alive somewhere.
This is a gripping dystopian adventure with two friends working together to survive. Caz and Will are a great pair, supporting each other through difficult and sometimes terrifying situations. 


Publisher: Barrington Stoke

About the author

  • Catherine Fisher

    Catherine Fisher was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She has worked in education and archaeology and as a lecturer in creative writing at the University of Glamorgan. She is a Fellow of the Welsh Academy.
    Catherine is an acclaimed poet and novelist, regularly lecturing and giving readings to groups of all ages. She leads sessions for teachers and librarians and is an experienced broadcaster and adjudicator. She lives in Newport, Gwent.
    Catherine has won many awards and much critical acclaim for her work. Her poetry has appeared in leading periodicals and anthologies and her volume Immrama won the WAC Young Writers' Prize. She won the Cardiff International Poetry Competition in 1990.
    Her first novel, The Conjuror's Game, was shortlisted for the Smarties Books prize and The Snow-Walker's Son for the W.H.Smith Award. Equally acclaimed is her quartet The Book of the Crow, a classic of fantasy fiction.
    The Oracle, the first volume in the Oracle trilogy, blends Egyptian and Greek elements of magic and adventure and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Books prize. The trilogy was an international bestseller and has appeared in over twenty languages. The Candleman won the Welsh Books Council's Tir Na n'Og Prize and Catherine was also shortlisted for the remarkable Corbenic, a modern re-inventing of the Grail legend.
    Her futuristic novel Incarceron was published to widespread praise in 2007, winning the Mythopoeic Society of America's Children's Fiction Award and selected by The Times as its Children's Book of the Year. The sequel, Sapphique, was published in September 2008. Catherine has written two titles for Barrington Stoke.  These are The Ghost Box (2008, new edition 2011) and The Magic Thief (2010).


More like this

Tell us what you thought