Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf

Publisher: Puffin Books

Like so many classic fantasy novels, the first of the Wereworld series begins with an ordinary boy to whom extraordinary things begin to happen. Drew is a simple farmer's son, with little more to concern him than tending his flock of unruly sheep, until the day that his beloved mother is savagely murdered by a hideous beast.

The attack triggers an unexpected transformation in Drew himself that forces him to flee his childhood home and family, and to confront his true identity: he is in fact no ordinary peasant, but one of the WereLords, an ancient family of shapeshifting creatures who rule the Seven Lands, and the last of a royal line. But Drew quickly finds himself with enemies on all sides, and there are many more adventures, battles and betrayals ahead before this high-octane debut reaches its exciting crescendo.

Action-packed and fast-paced, this is a gripping adventure with a compelling hero that is likely to appeal to young fans of fantasy and horror.

More books like this

Barefoot on the Wind

Author: Zoe Marriott

This stylish reworking of Beauty and the Beast unfolds in mythical Japan. Beautiful visual imagery, viscerally brutal action and desperate passions make this retelling feel fresh.

Read more about Barefoot on the Wind

Birth of a Killer

Author: Darren Shan

Birth of a Killer is the first book in a new series that form a prequel to the best-selling sequence The Saga of Darren Shan.

Read more about Birth of a Killer

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...