Top Secret Grandad and Me: Death by Tumble Dryer

Publisher: Kelpies

Review

Jayesh Patel has become somewhat of a detective since his dad mysteriously disappeared – so when a body is spotted in the school library, he knows it’s his job to investigate. But he is rather surprised when his grandad offers to help, especially as he has been dead for several years.

As the unusual duo delve into the case, they realise it may be more dangerous than either of them could have imagined.

This story is an absolute delight, from the hilarious characters in the Patel family to the fast-paced, page-turning adventure. Jay is a fabulous protagonist: thoughtful, curious and very relatable. Meanwhile, his complaining ghostly grandad ensures constant laughs. A highly enjoyable read.

*There are a few deaths in this book, although no graphic depictions

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth

Author: Katherine Woodfine

In the follow up to The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, we are reunited with Sophie, Lil and the rest of the gang, and Woodfine introduces some fantastic new characters. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens.

Read more about The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth

Cats and Curses

Author: Elen Caldecott

This is the fourth book in the Marsh Road Mysteries series, although there is no need to read them in order. Andrew, Piotr, Minnie, Flora and Sylvie are great characters and this is an exciting adventure that will be devoured in a few sittings.

Read more about Cats and Curses