The War Next Door

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group

Part of the Storey Street series, Phil Earle's book has all the usual wit, pace and silliness.

The War Next Door turns its focus to Masher, the bully of Storey Street. No one dares stand up to him and that's the way he likes it. But then Jemima and her family move into the empty plot of land next door - which Masher's dad was hoping to make loads of money from - and street war breaks out...

A lot of the joy here comes from Phil Earle's unique way with a funny phrase ('a plan more watertight than a mermaid's bathtub' being just one example).

However, there's a lot of affection here, as we watch Masher's transformation over the chapters. It's very refreshing to see him presented as a rounded character.

Throw into the mix Ogilvie's deliciously detailed sketches, and this is a fun read, indeed.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Matilda

Author: Roald Dahl Illustrator: Quentin Blake

This modern fairy-tale with a brilliantly inspiring young heroine is one of Roald Dahl's best loved stories.

Read more about Matilda

Demolition Dad

Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

Read more about Demolition Dad