The House on Hummingbird Island

Publisher: Macmillan

Review

At the age of 12, Idie Grace learns that she has inherited a large estate on Hummingbird Island: a tropical but remote island in the West Indies, full of exotic wildlife and secrets.

Idie leaves her home in England with only her governess, family lawyer and pet horse for company. Soon after her arrival,  she realises there's a lot she doesn't know about her family history - and starts to delve into her own mother's past on the island.

This is an intriguing and mysterious story, which is full of interesting characters. Perfect for fans of Iva Ibbotson's Journey to the River Sea, and classics like Frances Hodgson Burnett's A Little Princess and The Secret Garden.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

A Little Princess

Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett

A girl has a terrible time when she must go to boarding school

Read more about A Little Princess

Journey to the River Sea

Author: Eva Ibbotson

Orphan Maia is thrilled to learn she is to live with relatives in South America and cannot wait to experience the sights, sounds and smells of the Amazon.

Read more about Journey to the River Sea