The Cure for Dreaming

Publisher: Amulet Books

Review

Interspersing her text with archive photos, Cat Winters combines history with the supernatural in her celebration of independent women in early twentieth-century America, and highlights the fight for women's suffrage.

Dracula devotee Olivia Mead lives with her dentist father in Portland, Oregon. Frustrated by her husband's misogyny Olivia's actress mother left to continue her career when Olivia was small, and as she reaches 17, Olivia herself realises that her father will similarly restrict her own independent life and thought. He employs the young hypnotist Henri to stop her pro-suffrage tendencies, but Olivia becomes increasingly involved with Henri's future.

In the final notes and booklist UK readers may be surprised at how early women achieved the vote in some American territories.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Three Dark Crowns

Author: Kendare Blake

Three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and possessor of a coveted magic - and when they are 16, they must battle to the death to become Queen of the island. This story is feminist, fierce and unforgettable - perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

Read more about Three Dark Crowns

Until We Win

Author: Linda Newbery

This dyslexia friendly book looks at feminism and friendship, set against the looming backdrop of the First World War. Lizzy is a fantastic character, full of passion and wonderfully unafraid to stand up for herself after joining the Suffragettes.

Read more about Until We Win