The Chosen Ones

(2 reviews with an average rating of 4 out of 5)

Book Two in the Worldquake sequence

Publisher: Canongate

Set in a dystopian world where technology is flawed and magic abounds, this is the second instalment in the Worldquake Sequence.

Eleven-year-old Effie and her friends Maximilian, Raven, Lexy and Wolf each possess different magical powers. The children are suspicious when ruthless billionaire Albion Freake offers cash to anyone who hands over their copy of the bestselling children’s fantasy novel The Chosen Ones, written by Raven’s mother, Laurel Wilde.

As they attempt to discover Freake’s plan, Effie disappears into the Otherworld and her friends fear for her life. Meanwhile, Maximilian feels compelled to visit the Underworld, which is populated by monsters, demons and members of the sinister organisation known as the Diberi. The friends must use their wit, bravery and magical skills to overcome the villainous forces that threaten their existence.

Exciting, fast-paced and sometimes dark, this compelling fantasy adventure is peppered with portals into other dimensions, evil plots and magic. The brave, resourceful protagonists battle with larger-than life villains to protect the universe from destruction by the Diberi, and it will all leave readers desperately awaiting the third book in the series.

More books like this

Dragon’s Green

Author: Scarlett Thomas

When her grandfather dies, Effie vows to protect his magical books, and in doing so, journeys through a book into the magical Otherworld. A tremendous start to what promises to be an epic, intelligent and classic fantasy series.

Read more about Dragon’s Green

Northern Lights

Author: Philip Pullman

This extraordinary fantasy is the first book in Philip Pullman's multi-award-winning His Dark Materials trilogy

Read more about Northern Lights

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...