Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes

Publisher: Scholastic

Aru Shah is the daughter of a goddess, a Deva, and along with her sisters Mini and Brynne and their friend Aiden, she has to save the Otherworld from a war between Devas and demons. The bond between the sisters is powerful and seems unbreakable. Yet a prophecy tells them that one of the sisters will prove untrustworthy. Aru fears it will be her…

Aru Shah and the Tree of Wishes is a witty, warm and contemporary take on stories from Indian mythology, with vivid characters and hilarious dialogue that simply whisk you through the pages. Aru is a strong leader, but the real fun is the team’s dynamic, especially Aru’s relationship with her socially awkward sister Mini, the daughter of Death.

This is the third book in a series, and so we strongly recommend reading them in order, starting with Aru Shah and the End of Time. This is a gripping and funny series that will easily satisfy readers who love Percy Jackson or Skulduggery Pleasant and are looking for a new fantasy series to devour. 

More books like this

Aru Shah and the Song of Death

Author: Roshani Chokhsi

Packed with humour, wisdom and a satisfyingly twisty plot, this story will take confident readers on a magical journey. It’s fresh and contemporary and will open the door to a whole new world of Indian lore.

Read more about Aru Shah and the Song of Death

Ash Mistry and the World of Darkness

Author: Sarwat Chadda (also writes under Joshua Khan)

Ash Mistry has everything to play for in this final, epic battle against Savage and the forces of evil. The book isn’t simply a battle of good versus evil – the central theme is about realising your potential and becoming the best person you can be. 

Read more about Ash Mistry and the World of Darkness

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...