Print page

Prize-winning books to read from 2017

Survivors

Excitingly, there are loads of big book prizes that celebrate the serious talent among authors writing for children, tweens, teens and young adults. 

As ever, this year's award-winning list is packed full with fabulous books that we absolutely recommend for your child.

We've gathered them all together in one handy round-up. The majority of awards were in 2017, but there are a couple from the tail end of 2016, so you don't miss out.

Let us know what would win the award for your favourite children's book of the year @BookTrust

  • Ada Twist, Scientist

    Author: Andrea Beaty Illustrator: David Roberts
    Publisher: Abrams

    A brilliant and beautiful rhyming book about supporting your child's curiosity, and taking inspiration from Ada Lovelace (the pioneer mathematician and programmer), this is an inspirational and entertaining read.

  • An Eagle in the Snow

    Author: Michael Morpurgo Illustrator: Michael Foreman
    Publisher: HarperCollins

    Stuck on a train, a boy listens to a stranger’s story about one moment that could have stopped World War II. A thought-provoking story that young history enthusiasts will especially welcome.

  • Beetle Boy

    Author: MG Leonard
    Publisher: Chicken House

    When Darkus' father mysteriously disappears from London’s Natural History Museum, Darkus has to move in with his rather odd Uncle Max AND change schools. A wonderfully funny and engaging book, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

  • Bronze and Sunflower

    Author: Cao Wenxuan Illustrator: Meilo So Translator: Helen Wang
    Publisher: Walker Books

    A classic, heartwarming tale set to the backdrop of the Chinese cultural revolution, with the timeless feels of Eva Ibbotson's Journey to the River Sea.

  • Crongton Knights

    Author: Alex Wheatle
    Publisher: Atom

    McKay's life on the South Crongton Estate is rough. His Mum has died, his Dad works all hours of the day to keep away the Bailiffs, and his brother is always out looking for trouble.

  • Moon Juice: Poems for Children

    Author: Kate Wakeling Illustrator: Elina Braslina
    Publisher: The Emma Press

    Kate Wakeling's first book of poems for children is full of curious characters and strange situations. The poems she writes are always musical, sometimes wistful, and full of wonder.

  • Oi Dog!

    Author: Kes Gray Illustrator: Jim Field
    Publisher: Hodder Children's Books

    Frog has had enough of being sat on. This time, dogs will not sit on frogs - they will sit on logs, which is where they belong. Cats will sit on gnats, bears will sit on stairs and whales will sit on nails. This a side-splitting book, which is great for sharing.

  • One

    Author: Sarah Crossan
    Publisher: Bloomsbury

    This is a book that goes straight into your heart and once it is there, won't leave. One is a brilliant, beautiful, and heart-wrenching novel that is not to be missed.

  • Podkin One Ear

    Author: Kieran Larwood Illustrator: David Wyatt
    Publisher: Faber and Faber

    A mysterious storyteller rolls in from the snow one night and enchants a warren of young rabbits with the tale of Podkin One Ear: the son of a chieftain who went on to become a legend. A family read that already feels like a classic.

  • Salt to the Sea

    Author: Ruta Sepetys
    Publisher: Puffin

    A group of children flee the war in Germany, each with a secret to hide and a painful past to bear. This book is brilliantly written and tremendously sad, showing the perspective of very different characters.

  • Shark in the Park on a Windy Day!

    Author: Nick Sharratt
    Publisher: Picture Corgi

    Timothy Pope spots all sorts of things through his telescope, but are they really sharks? A delightful Sharratt peep-hole picturebook for toddlers and pre-schoolers to explore the action and join in.

  • Survivors

    Author: David Long Illustrator: Kerry Hyndman
    Publisher: Faber and Faber

    An anthology to inspire and help children understand how far self-belief and guts took adventurers from the past - and to wonder how far these qualities could take them too. Includes stunning illustrations.

  • The Bone Sparrow

    Author: Zana Fraillon
    Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

    Focusing on a friendship between two young refugees, The Bone Sparrow is one of those rare, special books that will break your heart with its honesty and beauty - but is ultimately hopeful and uplifting.

  • The Girl of Ink and Stars

    Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    Publisher: Chicken House

    When her closest friend disappears into the island's Forgotten Territories, Isabella Riosse volunteers to guide the search. A stunning debut, full of myth, magic and mapmaking.

  • The Journey

    Author: Francesca Sanna
    Publisher: Flying Eye Books

    What is it like to leave everything behind and travel somewhere strange? This incredibly poignant story introduces the concept of refugees with straightforward language, tackling this difficult subject with truth, clarity and strikingly beautiful illustrations.

  • The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen

    Author: Susin Nielsen
    Publisher: Andersen Press

    Nielsen tackles a hugely difficult subject with a deceptive lightness of touch. Henry’s life will never be the same, but day by day, he can begin to live again. A terrific, sad, beautiful and essential read.

  • There Is a Tribe of Kids

    Author: Lane Smith
    Publisher: Two Hoots

    A little boy spends a day finding different groups of things: a pod of whales, an unkindness of ravens, a formation of rocks. However, even the stars have a family, and the boy might be feeling just a tiny bit lonely. Where are the other kids?

  • Where’s Mr Lion?

    Author: Ingela Arrhenius
    Publisher: Nosy Crow

    Five beautifully illustrated spreads show a series of friendly savannah animals hiding behind bright felt flaps. You're in for a treat on the final page too.... There's a mirror!