Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf

Publisher: Puffin Books

Like so many classic fantasy novels, the first of the Wereworld series begins with an ordinary boy to whom extraordinary things begin to happen. Drew is a simple farmer's son, with little more to concern him than tending his flock of unruly sheep, until the day that his beloved mother is savagely murdered by a hideous beast.

The attack triggers an unexpected transformation in Drew himself that forces him to flee his childhood home and family, and to confront his true identity: he is in fact no ordinary peasant, but one of the WereLords, an ancient family of shapeshifting creatures who rule the Seven Lands, and the last of a royal line. But Drew quickly finds himself with enemies on all sides, and there are many more adventures, battles and betrayals ahead before this high-octane debut reaches its exciting crescendo.

Action-packed and fast-paced, this is a gripping adventure with a compelling hero that is likely to appeal to young fans of fantasy and horror.

More books like this

Call to War: The Chronicles of Avantia

Author: Adam Blade

The evil warlord Derthsin will rule Avantia if he can locate all four pieces of the Mask of Death. Only the Chosen Riders and their mythical Beasts stand between him and total control.

Read more about Call to War: The Chronicles of Avantia

Bitter Sixteen

Author: Stefan Mohamed

Funny, sharp and totally original, Bitter Sixteen is the beginning of a trilogy about a tremendously appealing smart-mouthed Welsh superhero (and his talking dog sidekick). Half action thriller, half coming-of-age story, with a wicked sense of humour.

Read more about Bitter Sixteen

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...