The Starman and Me

Publisher: Quercus

Twelve-year-old Kofi discovers Rorty Thrutch, a prehistoric human, on a supermarket roundabout. Rorty has no idea how he ended up in Kofi’s village, but his strange abilities – being able to copy, paste and delete objects using only the power of his mind – causes him to be the subject of some pretty unwelcome attention from scientists. They will do anything to get hold of Rorty and exploit his abilities for all they’re worth. Therefore, Kofi and best friend Janie must protect Rorty from the villainous adults, as well as finding his missing girlfriend, Pogsy Blue.

Themes of bullying and friendship run alongside those of science and the possibilities of DNA in this clever debut novel for upper primary or Year 7/8 readers. The characters are well drawn, and the adventure barrels on at a good pace throughout, as well as being a clever and thoughtful consideration of moral issues in scientific disciplines, the implications of genetics and the similarities and differences we have to others – even prehistoric humans. Perfect for fans of Christopher Edge.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Imagination Box

Author: Martyn Ford

When fate throws together a lonely youngster and an eccentric scientist, the result is an Imagination Box.

Read more about The Imagination Box

Shrunk!

Author: Fleur Hitchcock

When Tom wishes on a meteorite that falls in the Bywater-by-Sea Model Village, he discovers he has gained a strange new power - the ability to shrink things.

Read more about Shrunk!