The Sleeping Army

Publisher: Profile Books

One of the bestselling children's authors in the world, the creator of the Horrid Henry series, launches an exciting new novel for children aged 8+. Freya is an ordinary girl living in modern Britain, but with a twist: people still worship the Viking gods. She's caught in her parents' divorce, and shuttling between bickering adults is no fun. One evening, stuck with her dad on his night shift at the British Museum, she is drawn to the Lewis Chessmen and Heimdall's Horn. Unable to resist, she blows the horn, waking three chess pieces from their enchantment; the slaves Roskva and Alfi, and Snot the Berserk. They are all summoned to Asgard, land of the Viking gods, and told they must go on a perilous journey to restore the gods to youth. If Freya refuses she will be turned into an ivory chess piece but, if she accepts her destiny and fails, the same terrible fate awaits her.

More books like this

The Wicked Tricks of Till Owlyglass

Author: Michael Rosen Illustrator: Fritz Wegner

Atmospheric pen and ink illustrations show how Till's clever tricks made people laugh and cry, made him very rich as well as very poor and did a good job of exposing cheats and charlatans.

Read more about The Wicked Tricks of Till Owlyglass

The Knights of the Drop-Leaf Table

Author: Kaye Umansky Illustrator: Ben Whitehouse

To celebrate their new round drop-leaf table, the Knights decide to hold a party, and the French Knight, who has a hankering for yucky snails, volunteers to do the food. What could go wrong? A perfect, Monty Python-esque introduction to Camelot for kids.

Read more about The Knights of the Drop-Leaf Table

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...