The Same Inside

Publisher: Macmillan

The Same Inside is a thought-provoking and heart-warming collection of poems from three renowned British poets, Liz Brownlee, Matt Goodfellow and Roger Stevens.

Each poem is short, snappy and accessible, exploring subjects like empathy, respect and bullying. There’s something here for everyone to relate to, or to see their own feelings or experiences reflected within the words. Both gentle and searing, many of the poems touch on tough subjects about growing up and the world around us, but with great sensitivity. There is much here to think about and discuss, or readers can simply to enjoy the poets’ play with words, from Roger Stevens’ circular Night Puzzle to Liz Brownlee’s Beware the Bytes.

A great book to introduce poetry to those who aren’t too sure about it, or a great addition for anyone who already loves poetry.

More books like this

A Kid in my Class

Author: Rachel Rooney Illustrator: Chris Riddell

This brilliant and imaginatively illustrated book is the perfect addition to any classroom library; a book of clever poems picking out some of the many personalities that pupils will find sitting next to them in assemblies, lunch queues and in playgrounds.

Read more about A Kid in my Class

Poetry for a Change

Author: Various

This is the first-ever official National Poetry Day anthology, and it's a truly brilliant book for children to get stuck into all year round: perfect for classrooms but also fun for families. 

Read more about Poetry for a Change

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...