The Pearl in the Ice

Publisher: Chicken House

Disturbing memories of her mute mother haunt Marina. Her mother has been gone for a long time, and she has been brought up by her father, the commander of a ship. Marina longs to be noticed by her father, but he has secrets of his own.

On the eve of the First World War, her father sets off on a secret mission for the government, with Marina to be sent to boarding school to learn to be a lady. Instead, she runs away, following her father to his ship. When she arrives, she discovers she has been lied to – her father is not sailing south, but north. So begins an incredible journey into the ice, where Marina will learn the truth about her mother – and about herself.

With evocative, powerful writing and a great sense of building suspense, this is an entrancing read for children and teenagers alike. The struggle for women’s rights is cleverly foreshadowed.

Experienced readers will love finding the clues to a well-known fairy tale buried in the story – but the book is thoroughly enjoyable even if you don’t catch on. It is recommended for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave or Eva Ibbotson.

More books like this

Sovay

Author: Celia Rees

When an angry Sovay becomes a highwayman so she can hold up her faithless fiancé, she discovers that there is a conspiracy to try her father and brother for treason.

Read more about Sovay

Between Two Seas

Author: Marie-Louise Jensen

Marianne and her mother live an insular life in 19th century Grimsby. They are restricted by poverty and their shame in Marianne’s illegitimacy.

Read more about Between Two Seas

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...