The Pearl in the Ice

Publisher: Chicken House

Disturbing memories of her mute mother haunt Marina. Her mother has been gone for a long time, and she has been brought up by her father, the commander of a ship. Marina longs to be noticed by her father, but he has secrets of his own.

On the eve of the First World War, her father sets off on a secret mission for the government, with Marina to be sent to boarding school to learn to be a lady. Instead, she runs away, following her father to his ship. When she arrives, she discovers she has been lied to – her father is not sailing south, but north. So begins an incredible journey into the ice, where Marina will learn the truth about her mother – and about herself.

With evocative, powerful writing and a great sense of building suspense, this is an entrancing read for children and teenagers alike. The struggle for women’s rights is cleverly foreshadowed.

Experienced readers will love finding the clues to a well-known fairy tale buried in the story – but the book is thoroughly enjoyable even if you don’t catch on. It is recommended for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave or Eva Ibbotson.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Dollmaker of Krakow

Author: R. M. Romero Illustrator: Lisa Perrin

Doll Karolina is saved from war in her native Land of the Dolls and transported to Poland to live with a man known as the Dollmaker - only for their lives to be turned upside down by World War II. An unusual novel blending reality with folklore and fantasy that will have a lasting impact on readers.

Read more about The Dollmaker of Krakow

The Skylarks' War

Author: Hilary McKay

Clarry and Peter love spending their summers in Cornwall with their cousin Rupert, but how will things change when he enlists for the First World War? A hugely evocative, powerful and impressive story.

Read more about The Skylarks' War