The Mystery of Me

Publisher: Barrington Stoke

Review

Ketty died for two minutes, 39 seconds after the accident. She doesn't remember what happened, or much from before – who her friends were, what made her happy. And now she has to go back to school and work out how to get to her classes and who's nice and who isn't all over again. Mostly though, she wants her memories back. But when they start to return, she might not be ready for what she discovers. What if Ketty isn't who she thought she was?

The Mystery of Me is a touching story about identity and how sometimes something bad can actually be life-changing in a positive way. Ketty is a great character and in this short and super readable book, it's very clever how the author gradually reveals the different layers to Ketty and her story. Printed in a dyslexia friendly font, it's also ideal for reluctant or struggling readers, especially those who like books about real-life but with a touch of mystery.

Read an extract

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Otherlife

Author: Julia Gray

An intelligent and insightful read, this YA novel manages to merge Norse myth, competitive parenting, bullying, class issues and exam pressures into a taut and chilling thriller. Perfect for fans of Sarah Govett and Neil Gaiman.

Read more about The Otherlife

Zebra Crossing Soul Song

Author: Sita Brahmachari

Otis, the zebra crossing man, has been part of Lenny’s life for as long as he can remember. But now Otis is gone. What caused his meltdown? This lyrical, super-readable book is a joyful reading experience that will provoke tears as well as laughter.

Read more about Zebra Crossing Soul Song