The House on Hummingbird Island

Publisher: Macmillan

Review

At the age of 12, Idie Grace learns that she has inherited a large estate on Hummingbird Island: a tropical but remote island in the West Indies, full of exotic wildlife and secrets.

Idie leaves her home in England with only her governess, family lawyer and pet horse for company. Soon after her arrival,  she realises there's a lot she doesn't know about her family history - and starts to delve into her own mother's past on the island.

This is an intriguing and mysterious story, which is full of interesting characters. Perfect for fans of Iva Ibbotson's Journey to the River Sea, and classics like Frances Hodgson Burnett's A Little Princess and The Secret Garden.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Soldier Dog

Author: Sam Angus

It's 1917 and Stanley Ryder is one of many young boys enlisting in the army, in spite of the fact he is underage. Assigned to working with messenger dogs, he is drafted to the Western Front.

Read more about Soldier Dog

The Secret Garden

Author:

When the spoilt and bad-tempered Mary is orphaned at the age of ten, she is sent from India to live with her hunchback uncle on the Yorkshire Moors. This classic novel is a satisfying and absorbing read.

Read more about The Secret Garden