The Diggers are Coming!

Publisher: Frances Lincoln

Susan Steggall's attractive picture books investigate technology and transport in an inventive way. The subject of this book is the building of a new estate, and it explores everything from the demolition of old properties, to planners creating new designs, to families moving into their new homes.

Each spread is bright, clear and engaging, with bold collaged illustrations in Steggall's signature style, and includes plenty of detail for readers to discover. Accompanying the illustrations are memorable, rhythmic phrases describing the actions of the machines and the people at work, which make this book enjoyable to read aloud.

More books like this

Nanette’s Baguette

Author: Mo Willems

Nanette is excited to go to the bakery on her own to get the baguettes. Unfortunately, she cannot resist taking a bite - and then another... A story - told in giggle-inducing rhyme and quirky illustrations - all about responsibility and being truthful.

Read more about Nanette’s Baguette

The Cave

Author: Rob Hodgson

There is a cave that is home to a creature: a creature that never leaves its cave… Because of the wolf. A laugh-out-loud story with a very BIG surprise and some glorious artwork: perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Read more about The Cave

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...