The Book Case

An Emily Lime Mystery

Publisher: David Fickling Books

Review

Bookworm Daphne has been expelled from her old school after an ‘unfortunate incident’ when she gets an unexpected letter offering her a free place at St Rita’s School for Spirited Girls: a boarding school in the middle of nowhere.

There she meets Emily Lime, the terse yet intriguing pupil Assistant Librarian, and George, inexplicably the only boy at the school –  and immediately, strange things start happening. There’s been a bank robbery in town and a break-in at school, and the trio are determined to get to the bottom of it.

This sniggeringly funny, totally deadpan book is a joy to read. Loosely set in the 1930s, it’s a bit like reading a really well-written and funny Famous Five or Secret Seven by Enid Blyton. Emily Lime herself is a relentless, enigmatic and mysterious heroine, almost a girl Sherlock Holmes. She delivers some delicious one liners: ‘You were embarrassed about reading? Never do that again!’

Dave Shelton’s line drawings add extra spice to what is a really promising new series. Perfect for fans of Robin Stevens’ Wells and Wong books.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Murder Most Unladylike

Author: Robin Stevens

There's been a rather shocking murder at Deepdean School for Girls - but luckily, young detectives Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are on the case!

Read more about Murder Most Unladylike

Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Author: Katherine Woodfine

Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is a wonderful adventure full of friendship and heart, danger and mystery, and is not to be missed.

Read more about Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow