Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Review

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Coral Kingdom

Author: Laura Knowles and Jennie Webber

The great beauty and diversity of the coral reef is explored in this stunningly beautiful picture book, which is a true work of art. The rhyming non-fiction text scans well and the information about coral reef conservation is pitched at the right level.

Read more about The Coral Kingdom

How the Borks Became

Author: Jonathan Emmett Illustrator: Elys Dolan

Evolution can be a difficult concept to explain to children, but this amusing picture book presents it beautifully. Reminiscent of Dr Seuss books, it's a fantastically funny tale with wonderfully vibrant illustrations.

Read more about How the Borks Became