Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

More books like this

House Held Up By Trees

Author: Ted Kooser Illustrator: Jon Klassen

A thoughtful and sophisticated picture book about the passage of time and the power of nature, which will particularly appeal to older readers.

Read more about House Held Up By Trees

Catch That Egg!

Author: Lucy Rowland and Anna Chernyshova

Floppit is a bunny with very big, bouncy feet. Unfortunately, he is just too boisterous for his friends looking after little ones. Is he too bouncy to be around? A lovely one to share with older siblings that may have a new baby in the house.

Read more about Catch That Egg!

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...