Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Review

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Come All You Little Persons

Author: John Agard Illustrator: Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Captivating and vibrant illustrations complement the lyrical text in this joyous, inclusive story by celebrated poet John Agard. Perfect for reading aloud at bedtime, this book celebrates childhood and the natural world in all its rich diversity.

Read more about Come All You Little Persons

Me and Mister P

Author: Maria Farrer Illustrator: Daniel Rieley

All Arthur wants is a completely normal family, so he decides to run away to find one. But on his doorstep, he meets a polar bear called Mister P. With nods to Mary Poppins and Paddington Bear, this book will win the hearts of every reader.

Read more about Me and Mister P