Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Flying Free

Author: Nicola Davies Illustrator: Cathy Fisher

When Colin shoots a sparrowhawk, he knows that he’s done something wrong and takes the hawk to the vet. Soon, Colin finds a passion for wildlife he never knew he had. Anyone reading Flying Free will want to rescue their own hawk...

Read more about Flying Free

House Held Up By Trees

Author: Ted Kooser Illustrator: Jon Klassen

A thoughtful and sophisticated picture book about the passage of time and the power of nature, which will particularly appeal to older readers.

Read more about House Held Up By Trees