Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Review

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Catch That Egg!

Author: Lucy Rowland and Anna Chernyshova

Floppit is a bunny with very big, bouncy feet. Unfortunately, he is just too boisterous for his friends looking after little ones. Is he too bouncy to be around? A lovely one to share with older siblings that may have a new baby in the house.

Read more about Catch That Egg!

I’m the Biggest

Author: Stephanie Blake Illustrator: Linda Burgess

This light-hearted picture book is a welcome addition to the Simon and Casper series, and touches on some common issues experienced by many toddlers, such as jealousy, unfairness and sibling rivalry. 

Read more about I’m the Biggest