Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Review

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Tale of Peter Rabbit

Beatrix Potter

Beatrix Potter's iconic tale of the naughty rabbit has been a favourite with children and parents ever since it was published in 1902 - it has a timeless charm.

Read more about The Tale of Peter Rabbit

Hector and Hummingbird

Nicholas John Frith

The story of Hector and Hummingbird is a lovely one for children with - sometimes irritating but always lovable - little brothers and sisters. The 1950s style and colouring of this fantastic picture book is very appealing.

Read more about Hector and Hummingbird