Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

More books like this

Oceanarium

Author: Loveday Trinick Illustrator: Teagan White

With remarkable illustration that will make anyone want to dive in and learn more about the wondrous oceanic realms, this is a brilliant addition to the now extensive “Welcome to the Museum” series, which has featured the planets, plants, history and more.

Read more about Oceanarium

Sounds of the Skies

Author: Moira Butterfield Illustrator: Jonathan Woodward

This delightful, nonfiction sound book introduces birds from different habitats from around the world. Listen to the song of the Chinese nightingale, the hunting call of the mighty bald eagle, or the nighttime hoot of a tawny owl by pressing the highlighted circles on the page.

Although called Sounds of the Skies, there is a lot more here than just birds and…

Read more about Sounds of the Skies

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...