Storm Whale

Publisher: Old Barn Books

Review

Three sisters walk to the beach on a windy day to find a huge whale beached on the shore. The girls try everything to help the poor whale, throwing endless buckets of water over its giant body to keep it alive. An encroaching storm sends the girls home where they spend a restless night worrying about the whale. The storm washes up all sorts of litter onto the beach, and carries the whale back into the ocean where it belongs. 

A long rhyming text with some complicated words and odd structures make this picture book one for slightly older readers or listeners. The illustrations are impressive with dark shadowy tones and a strong sense of atmosphere, and the traditional style will appeal to fans of Shirley Hughes and Helen Oxenbury. The images of the whale itself are particularly striking.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Me and Mister P

Maria Farrer, Illustrated Daniel Rieley

All Arthur wants is a completely normal family, so he decides to run away to find one. But on his doorstep, he meets a polar bear called Mister P. With nods to Mary Poppins and Paddington Bear, this book will win the hearts of every reader.

Read more about Me and Mister P

Starring Carmen!

Anika Denise, Illustrated by Lorenza Alvarez Gomez

Carmen is a one-girl theatre company. She sings, acts, dances and makes the costumes! Her little brother Eduardo is desperate to be part of her shows, and she gives him a non-speaking role in her latest production. When her parents decide they need a little break from her relentless performances, Carmen has a very dramatic sulk – how can she be the star of t…

Read more about Starring Carmen!