Poppy Goes Wild

Publisher: Little Steps Publishing

When Poppy stays at her grandpa’s farm, she listens to his tales of the old days – when otters raced each other in the river, when you could spot peregrine falcons above and when the meadows were full of wild flowers. Yet, none of those animals can be found on the farm anymore because of the use of pesticides and modern farming techniques. Inspired by some research on rewilding, Poppy inspires grandpa to make some changes and welcome nature back to the farm, with marvellous results.

This charming book with full colour, whole page illustrations from Becca Hall will delight young nature enthusiasts and especially those who are interested in conservation. Rewilding seems much in vogue nowadays, and while this is a story, it’s also a pretty detailed guide to how the approach works to increase natural biodiversity. A lovely and very educational read for fans of Nicola Davies and David Attenborough.

More books like this

Swan Song

Author: Gill Lewis

A young boy expelled for hurting a classmate is sent to stay with his Grandad in a tiny village, where he begins to find comfort in the peace and beauty of nature. This moving novel sensitively explores some of the pressures faced by teenagers and their potential impact on mental health. 

Read more about Swan Song

White Owl Barn Owl

Author: Nicola Davies Illustrator: Michael Foreman

Davies cocoons the factual information within an inter-generational first-person narrative of a girl and her grandfather building an owl nest-box.

Read more about White Owl Barn Owl

Share this book with your friends

Use our Bookfinder to discover the perfect children's books for every age...