My Dad's a Birdman

(2 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5)

Publisher: Walker Books

Review

Lizzie is doing her best to behave normally in the face of her father’s announcement that he is going to put on wings and take part in The Great Human Bird Competition. He is day-dreaming, giggling and clearly needs looking after – but Auntie Doreen has arrived to feed the pair dumplings and keep their feet firmly on the ground.

Is Dad’s plan to fly unhinged? Or should we (like Lizzie) have belief, and fly with him into the realms of imagination and creativity – to where a man eats worms, tweets with happiness, flaps his wings – and story takes flight.

The pay-off for the attempt is joy. This charmingly illustrated, funny, fast-paced, seemingly simple story, is also beautifully tender and profound.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

Demolition Dad

Author: Phil Earle Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie

Demolition Dad is sure to delight children, and adults, of all ages and is perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

Read more about Demolition Dad

Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot

Author: Horatio Clare Illustrator: Jane Matthews

This fabulously illustrated book addresses the difficult subject of parental depression, at once describing the horror of Aubrey’s dad’s experience but also remaining upbeat and full of surreal humour.

Read more about Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot