Aidan Abet, Teacher’s Pet

Publisher: Barrington Stoke

Review

Aiden is a target for school bullies. The only way he can survive is to suck up to the teacher so they protect him. When a new teacher starts, he cannot seem to win her over - until he offers to look after the large amount of animals she brought for her classroom.

But there is something strange about these animals - the gerbils spell out words with their droppings, the snails draw pictures with their slime, and the snake contorts its body into letters. Can Aiden overcome his fear of the creatures to figure out what is going on?

Not only is this story an easy read and dyslexia friendly, it is a fun-filled mystery with a great twist. Readers won't know who to root for as the tale develops.

Share this page with your friends

More books like this

The Spy Who Loved School Dinners

Author: Pamela Butchart Illustrator: Thomas Flintham

Izzy is really excited to be picked to look after the new girl, Mathilde, but the new girl isn't quite what Izzy and her friends were expecting...

Read more about The Spy Who Loved School Dinners

Beetle Boy

Author: MG Leonard

When Darkus' father mysteriously disappears from London’s Natural History Museum, Darkus has to move in with his rather odd Uncle Max AND change schools. A wonderfully funny and engaging book, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Read more about Beetle Boy