Judging panel announced for 10th BBC National Short Story Award

Judging panel announced for 10th BBC National Short Story Award
30 January 2015

Allan Little will chair 2015's judging panel, which includes Tash Aw, Sarah Hall and Ian Rankin.


Former BBC Foreign Correspondent Allan Little will take over the role of chair from BBC Creative Director, Alan Yentob. During his time as Foreign Correspondent Allan covered the Gulf War in Iraq and the fall of communism in Eastern Europe.


Allan is joined on the panel by Whitbread and Commonwealth prize-winner Tash Aw and former BBC National Short Story Award with Book Trust winner, Sarah Hall, who won 2013's award with her story 'Mrs Fox', a darkly erotic tale which sees a woman transformed into a fox.


The final new judge for 2015's competition is Inspector Rebus creator, Ian Rankin. The four judges will be joined by BBC Books Editor Di Speirs, who has been on the judging panel since the award's inception.


To coincide with the competition's 10th year, 10 schools will be selected to shadow judge 2015's award. The participating students will read the shortlisted novels and vote for their favourite.


Last year's award saw former two-time shortlisted writer Lionel Shriver win for her story 'Kilifi Creek'.


Dates for the diary

  • The deadline for receipt of entries for the BBC National Short Story Award 2015 with Book Trust is 5pm (GMT), Wednesday 25 February 2015
  • The shortlist will be announced on BBC Radio 4's 'Front Row' at 7.15pm on Wednesday 16 September 2015
  • Interviews with each of the shortlisted writers will be broadcast over five weekdays on BBC Radio 4's Front Row at 7.15pm from Friday 18 to Thursday 24 September 2015. Each writer's story will be then be broadcast on BBC Radio 4 at 3.30 pm on the following working day, from Monday 21 to Friday 25 September 2015
  • The announcement of the BBC National Short Story Award 2015 with Book Trust winner and runner-up, as well as the shadow winner and the Young Writers' Award winner will be broadcast live from the Award ceremony on BBC Radio 4's Front Row from 7.15pm on Tuesday 6 October 2015.


Find out more about the BBC National Short Story Award


Add a comment